Email       Phone       Livonia       Detroit       Metro Airport      

Operating While Intoxicated (OWI 3rd Offense) - Felony Drunk Driving Third Offense in Livonia Michigan - OWI 3rd Offense under 257.625 in 16th District Court Livonia, Michigan is a Class E felony that carries up to 60 months in prison.

If you are charged with Operating While Intoxicated (OWI 3rd Offense) - Felony Drunk Driving Third Offense in Livonia, Michigan, you need the help of an experienced Livonia criminal defense attorney. I can provide you with nearly 20 years of experience and a willingness to fight and take cases to trial.

Operating a Vehicle While Intoxicated, 3rd Offense is a class E felony that carries up to 5 years in prison (60 months). If you are arrested and charged with Operating While Intoxicated (OWI 3rd Offense) - Felony Drunk Driving Third Offense, your first court appearance will be an arraignment in the 16th District Court in Livonia, Michigan. Learn more about an arraignment now. At the arraignment, your case will be scheduled for a probable cause conference and a preliminary examination. Bond will also be addressed at the arraignment. The probable cause conference must be scheduled within 7 to 14 days of the arraignment with the preliminary examination scheduled within 5 to 7 days after the probable cause conference.

Following the preliminary examination, further proceedings are held in the Wayne County Circuit Court at the Frank Murphy Hall of Justice in downtown Detroit. If there is virtually any evidence supporting the prosecutor's case, it is extremely likely that the matter will be bound over in the district court. Nonetheless, I almost always challenge cases at the preliminary examination because it is the best opportunity that the defense is presented for challenging the evidence and developing the facts that will support defenses in the circuit court. DO NOT WAIVE THE PRELIMINARY EXAMINATION WITHOUT MAKING AN INFORMED DECISION.

The charge of Operating While Intoxicated (OWI 3rd Offense) - Felony Drunk Driving Third Offense is detailed in the Michigan compiled laws, MCL 257.625(9)(c). The provisions of MCL 257.625 state:

(1) A person, whether licensed or not, shall not operate a vehicle upon a highway or other place open to the general public or generally accessible to motor vehicles, including an area designated for the parking of vehicles, within this state if the person is operating while intoxicated. As used in this section, operating while intoxicated means any of the following:

 

(a) The person is under the influence of alcoholic liquor, a controlled substance, or other intoxicating substance or a combination of alcoholic liquor, a controlled substance, or other intoxicating substance.

 

(b) The person has an alcohol content of 0.08 grams or more per 100 milliliters of blood, per 210 liters of breath, or per 67 milliliters of urine, or, beginning October 1, 2018, the person has an alcohol content of 0.10 grams or more per 100 milliliters of blood, per 210 liters of breath, or per 67 milliliters of urine.

 

(c) The person has an alcohol content of 0.17 grams or more per 100 milliliters of blood, per 210 liters of breath, or per 67 milliliters of urine.

 

(2) The owner of a vehicle or a person in charge or in control of a vehicle shall not authorize or knowingly permit the vehicle to be operated upon a highway or other place open to the general public or generally accessible to motor vehicles, including an area designated for the parking of motor vehicles, within this state by a person if any of the following apply:

 

(a) The person is under the influence of alcoholic liquor, a controlled substance, other intoxicating substance, or a combination of alcoholic liquor, a controlled substance, or other intoxicating substance.

 

(b) The person has an alcohol content of 0.08 grams or more per 100 milliliters of blood, per 210 liters of breath, or per 67 milliliters of urine or, beginning October 1, 2018, the person has an alcohol content of 0.10 grams or more per 100 milliliters of blood, per 210 liters of breath, or per 67 milliliters of urine.

 

(c) The person's ability to operate the motor vehicle is visibly impaired due to the consumption of alcoholic liquor, a controlled substance, or other intoxicating substance, or a combination of alcoholic liquor, a controlled substance, or other intoxicating substance.

 

(3) A person, whether licensed or not, shall not operate a vehicle upon a highway or other place open to the general public or generally accessible to motor vehicles, including an area designated for the parking of vehicles, within this state when, due to the consumption of alcoholic liquor, a controlled substance, or other intoxicating substance, or a combination of alcoholic liquor, a controlled substance, or other intoxicating substance, the person's ability to operate the vehicle is visibly impaired. If a person is charged with violating subsection (1), a finding of guilty under this subsection may be rendered.

 

(4) A person, whether licensed or not, who operates a motor vehicle in violation of subsection (1), (3), or (8) and by the operation of that motor vehicle causes the death of another person is guilty of a crime as follows:

 

(a) Except as provided in subdivisions (b) and (c), the person is guilty of a felony punishable by imprisonment for not more than 15 years or a fine of not less than $2,500.00 or more than $10,000.00, or both. The judgment of sentence may impose the sanction permitted under section 625n. If the vehicle is not ordered forfeited under section 625n, the court shall order vehicle immobilization under section 904d in the judgment of sentence.

 

(b) If the violation occurs while the person has an alcohol content of 0.17 grams or more per 100 milliliters of blood, per 210 liters of breath, or per 67 milliliters of urine, and within 7 years of a prior conviction, the person is guilty of a felony punishable by imprisonment for not more than 20 years or a fine of not less than $2,500.00 or more than $10,000.00, or both. The judgment of sentence may impose the sanction permitted under section 625n. If the vehicle is not ordered forfeited under section 625n, the court shall order vehicle immobilization under section 904d in the judgment of sentence.

 

(c) If, at the time of the violation, the person is operating a motor vehicle in a manner proscribed under section 653a and causes the death of a police officer, firefighter, or other emergency response personnel, the person is guilty of a felony punishable by imprisonment for not more than 20 years or a fine of not less than $2,500.00 or more than $10,000.00, or both. This subdivision applies regardless of whether the person is charged with the violation of section 653a. The judgment of sentence may impose the sanction permitted under section 625n. If the vehicle is not ordered forfeited under section 625n, the court shall order vehicle immobilization under section 904d in the judgment of sentence.

 

(5) A person, whether licensed or not, who operates a motor vehicle in violation of subsection (1), (3), or (8) and by the operation of that motor vehicle causes a serious impairment of a body function of another person is guilty of a crime as follows:

 

(a) Except as provided in subdivision (b), the person is guilty of a felony punishable by imprisonment for not more than 5 years or a fine of not less than $1,000.00 or more than $5,000.00, or both. The judgment of sentence may impose the sanction permitted under section 625n. If the vehicle is not ordered forfeited under section 625n, the court shall order vehicle immobilization under section 904d in the judgment of sentence.

 

(b) If the violation occurs while the person has an alcohol content of 0.17 grams or more per 100 milliliters of blood, per 210 liters of breath, or per 67 milliliters of urine, and within 7 years of a prior conviction, the person is guilty of a felony punishable by imprisonment for not more than 10 years or a fine of not less than $1,000.00 or more than $5,000.00, or both. The judgment of sentence may impose the sanction permitted under section 625n. If the vehicle is not ordered forfeited under section 625n, the court shall order vehicle immobilization under section 904d in the judgment of sentence.

 

(6) A person who is less than 21 years of age, whether licensed or not, shall not operate a vehicle upon a highway or other place open to the general public or generally accessible to motor vehicles, including an area designated for the parking of vehicles, within this state if the person has any bodily alcohol content. As used in this subsection, any bodily alcohol content means either of the following:

 

(a) An alcohol content of 0.02 grams or more but less than 0.08 grams per 100 milliliters of blood, per 210 liters of breath, or per 67 milliliters of urine, or, beginning October 1, 2018, the person has an alcohol content of 0.02 grams or more but less than 0.10 grams per 100 milliliters of blood, per 210 liters of breath, or per 67 milliliters of urine.

 

(b) Any presence of alcohol within a person's body resulting from the consumption of alcoholic liquor, other than consumption of alcoholic liquor as a part of a generally recognized religious service or ceremony.

 

(7) A person, whether licensed or not, is subject to the following requirements:

 

(a) He or she shall not operate a vehicle in violation of subsection (1), (3), (4), (5), or (8) while another person who is less than 16 years of age is occupying the vehicle. A person who violates this subdivision is guilty of a crime punishable as follows:

 

(i) Except as provided in subparagraph (ii), a person who violates this subdivision is guilty of a misdemeanor and shall be sentenced to pay a fine of not less than $200.00 or more than $1,000.00 and to 1 or more of the following:

 

(A) Imprisonment for not less than 5 days or more than 1 year. Not less than 48 hours of this imprisonment shall be served consecutively. This term of imprisonment shall not be suspended.

 

(B) Community service for not less than 30 days or more than 90 days.

 

(ii) If the violation occurs within 7 years of a prior conviction or after 2 or more prior convictions, regardless of the number of years that have elapsed since any prior conviction, a person who violates this subdivision is guilty of a felony and shall be sentenced to pay a fine of not less than $500.00 or more than $5,000.00 and to either of the following:

 

(A) Imprisonment under the jurisdiction of the department of corrections for not less than 1 year or more than 5 years.

 

(B) Probation with imprisonment in the county jail for not less than 30 days or more than 1 year and community service for not less than 60 days or more than 180 days. Not less than 48 hours of this imprisonment shall be served consecutively. This term of imprisonment shall not be suspended.

 

(b) He or she shall not operate a vehicle in violation of subsection (6) while another person who is less than 16 years of age is occupying the vehicle. A person who violates this subdivision is guilty of a misdemeanor punishable as follows:

 

(i) Except as provided in subparagraph (ii), a person who violates this subdivision may be sentenced to 1 or more of the following:

 

(A) Community service for not more than 60 days.

 

(B) A fine of not more than $500.00.

 

(C) Imprisonment for not more than 93 days.

 

(ii) If the violation occurs within 7 years of a prior conviction or after 2 or more prior convictions, regardless of the number of years that have elapsed since any prior conviction, a person who violates this subdivision shall be sentenced to pay a fine of not less than $200.00 or more than $1,000.00 and to 1 or more of the following:

 

(A) Imprisonment for not less than 5 days or more than 1 year. Not less than 48 hours of this imprisonment shall be served consecutively. This term of imprisonment shall not be suspended.

 

(B) Community service for not less than 30 days or more than 90 days.

 

(c) In the judgment of sentence under subdivision (a)(i) or (b)(i), the court may, unless the vehicle is ordered forfeited under section 625n, order vehicle immobilization as provided in section 904d. In the judgment of sentence under subdivision (a)(ii) or (b)(ii), the court shall, unless the vehicle is ordered forfeited under section 625n, order vehicle immobilization as provided in section 904d.

 

(d) This subsection does not prohibit a person from being charged with, convicted of, or punished for a violation of subsection (4) or (5) that is committed by the person while violating this subsection. However, points shall not be assessed under section 320a for both a violation of subsection (4) or (5) and a violation of this subsection for conduct arising out of the same transaction.

 

(8) A person, whether licensed or not, shall not operate a vehicle upon a highway or other place open to the general public or generally accessible to motor vehicles, including an area designated for the parking of vehicles, within this state if the person has in his or her body any amount of a controlled substance listed in schedule 1 under section 7212 of the public health code, 1978 PA 368, MCL 333.7212, or a rule promulgated under that section, or of a controlled substance described in section 7214(a)(iv) of the public health code, 1978 PA 368, MCL 333.7214.

 

(9) If a person is convicted of violating subsection (1) or (8), all of the following apply:

 

(a) Except as otherwise provided in subdivisions (b) and (c), the person is guilty of a misdemeanor punishable by 1 or more of the following:

 

(i) Community service for not more than 360 hours.

 

(ii) Imprisonment for not more than 93 days, or, if the person is convicted of violating subsection (1)(c), imprisonment for not more than 180 days.

 

(iii) A fine of not less than $100.00 or more than $500.00, or, if the person is guilty of violating subsection (1)(c), a fine of not less than $200.00 or more than $700.00.

 

(b) If the violation occurs within 7 years of a prior conviction, the person shall be sentenced to pay a fine of not less than $200.00 or more than $1,000.00 and 1 or more of the following:

 

(i) Imprisonment for not less than 5 days or more than 1 year. Not less than 48 hours of the term of imprisonment imposed under this subparagraph shall be served consecutively.

 

(ii) Community service for not less than 30 days or more than 90 days.

 

(c) If the violation occurs after 2 or more prior convictions, regardless of the number of years that have elapsed since any prior conviction, the person is guilty of a felony and shall be sentenced to pay a fine of not less than $500.00 or more than $5,000.00 and to either of the following:

 

(i) Imprisonment under the jurisdiction of the department of corrections for not less than 1 year or more than 5 years.

 

(ii) Probation with imprisonment in the county jail for not less than 30 days or more than 1 year and community service for not less than 60 days or more than 180 days. Not less than 48 hours of the imprisonment imposed under this subparagraph shall be served consecutively.

 

(d) A term of imprisonment imposed under subdivision (b) or (c) shall not be suspended.

 

(e) In the judgment of sentence under subdivision (a), the court may order vehicle immobilization as provided in section 904d. In the judgment of sentence under subdivision (b) or (c), the court shall, unless the vehicle is ordered forfeited under section 625n, order vehicle immobilization as provided in section 904d.

 

(f) In the judgment of sentence under subdivision (b) or (c), the court may impose the sanction permitted under section 625n.

 

(10) A person who is convicted of violating subsection (2) is guilty of a crime as follows:

 

(a) Except as provided in subdivisions (b) and (c), a misdemeanor punishable by imprisonment for not more than 93 days or a fine of not less than $100.00 or more than $500.00, or both.

 

(b) If the person operating the motor vehicle violated subsection (4), a felony punishable by imprisonment for not more than 5 years or a fine of not less than $1,500.00 or more than $10,000.00, or both.

 

(c) If the person operating the motor vehicle violated subsection (5), a felony punishable by imprisonment for not more than 2 years or a fine of not less than $1,000.00 or more than $5,000.00, or both.

 

(11) If a person is convicted of violating subsection (3), all of the following apply:

 

(a) Except as otherwise provided in subdivisions (b) and (c), the person is guilty of a misdemeanor punishable by 1 or more of the following:

 

(i) Community service for not more than 360 hours.

 

(ii) Imprisonment for not more than 93 days.

 

(iii) A fine of not more than $300.00.

 

(b) If the violation occurs within 7 years of 1 prior conviction, the person shall be sentenced to pay a fine of not less than $200.00 or more than $1,000.00, and 1 or more of the following:

 

(i) Imprisonment for not less than 5 days or more than 1 year. Not less than 48 hours of the term of imprisonment imposed under this subparagraph shall be served consecutively.

 

(ii) Community service for not less than 30 days or more than 90 days.

 

(c) If the violation occurs after 2 or more prior convictions, regardless of the number of years that have elapsed since any prior conviction, the person is guilty of a felony and shall be sentenced to pay a fine of not less than $500.00 or more than $5,000.00 and either of the following:

 

(i) Imprisonment under the jurisdiction of the department of corrections for not less than 1 year or more than 5 years.

 

(ii) Probation with imprisonment in the county jail for not less than 30 days or more than 1 year and community service for not less than 60 days or more than 180 days. Not less than 48 hours of the imprisonment imposed under this subparagraph shall be served consecutively.

 

(d) A term of imprisonment imposed under subdivision (b) or (c) shall not be suspended.

 

(e) In the judgment of sentence under subdivision (a), the court may order vehicle immobilization as provided in section 904d. In the judgment of sentence under subdivision (b) or (c), the court shall, unless the vehicle is ordered forfeited under section 625n, order vehicle immobilization as provided in section 904d.

 

(f) In the judgment of sentence under subdivision (b) or (c), the court may impose the sanction permitted under section 625n.

 

(12) If a person is convicted of violating subsection (6), all of the following apply:

 

(a) Except as otherwise provided in subdivision (b), the person is guilty of a misdemeanor punishable by 1 or both of the following:

 

(i) Community service for not more than 360 hours.

 

(ii) A fine of not more than $250.00.

 

(b) If the violation occurs within 7 years of 1 or more prior convictions, the person may be sentenced to 1 or more of the following:

 

(i) Community service for not more than 60 days.

 

(ii) A fine of not more than $500.00.

 

(iii) Imprisonment for not more than 93 days.

 

(13) In addition to imposing the sanctions prescribed under this section, the court may order the person to pay the costs of the prosecution under the code of criminal procedure, 1927 PA 175, MCL 760.1 to 777.69.

 

(14) A person sentenced to perform community service under this section shall not receive compensation and shall reimburse the state or appropriate local unit of government for the cost of supervision incurred by the state or local unit of government as a result of the person's activities in that service.

 

(15) If the prosecuting attorney intends to seek an enhanced sentence under this section or a sanction under section 625n based upon the defendant having 1 or more prior convictions, the prosecuting attorney shall include on the complaint and information, or an amended complaint and information, filed in district court, circuit court, municipal court, or family division of circuit court, a statement listing the defendant's prior convictions.

 

(16) If a person is charged with a violation of subsection (1), (3), (4), (5), (7), or (8) or section 625m, the court shall not permit the defendant to enter a plea of guilty or nolo contendere to a charge of violating subsection (6) in exchange for dismissal of the original charge. This subsection does not prohibit the court from dismissing the charge upon the prosecuting attorney's motion.

 

(17) A prior conviction shall be established at sentencing by 1 or more of the following:

 

(a) A copy of a judgment of conviction.

 

(b) An abstract of conviction.

 

(c) A transcript of a prior trial or a plea-taking or sentencing proceeding.

 

(d) A copy of a court register of actions.

 

(e) A copy of the defendant's driving record.

 

(f) Information contained in a presentence report.

 

(g) An admission by the defendant.

 

(18) Except as otherwise provided in subsection (20), if a person is charged with operating a vehicle while under the influence of a controlled substance or other intoxicating substance or a combination of alcoholic liquor, a controlled substance, or other intoxicating substance in violation of subsection (1) or a local ordinance substantially corresponding to subsection (1), the court shall require the jury to return a special verdict in the form of a written finding or, if the court convicts the person without a jury or accepts a plea of guilty or nolo contendere, the court shall make a finding as to whether the person was under the influence of a controlled substance or other intoxicating substance or a combination of alcoholic liquor, a controlled substance, or other intoxicating substance at the time of the violation.

 

(19) Except as otherwise provided in subsection (20), if a person is charged with operating a vehicle while his or her ability to operate the vehicle was visibly impaired due to his or her consumption of a controlled substance or other intoxicating substance or a combination of alcoholic liquor, a controlled substance, or other intoxicating substance in violation of subsection (3) or a local ordinance substantially corresponding to subsection (3), the court shall require the jury to return a special verdict in the form of a written finding or, if the court convicts the person without a jury or accepts a plea of guilty or nolo contendere, the court shall make a finding as to whether, due to the consumption of a controlled substance or a combination of alcoholic liquor, a controlled substance, or other intoxicating substance, the person's ability to operate a motor vehicle was visibly impaired at the time of the violation.

 

(20) A special verdict described in subsections (18) and (19) is not required if a jury is instructed to make a finding solely as to either of the following:

 

(a) Whether the defendant was under the influence of a controlled substance or a combination of alcoholic liquor, a controlled substance, or other intoxicating substance at the time of the violation.

 

(b) Whether the defendant was visibly impaired due to his or her consumption of a controlled substance or a combination of alcoholic liquor, a controlled substance, or other intoxicating substance at the time of the violation.

 

(21) If a jury or court finds under subsection (18), (19), or (20) that the defendant operated a motor vehicle under the influence of or while impaired due to the consumption of a controlled substance or a combination of a controlled substance, an alcoholic liquor, or other intoxicating substance, the court shall do both of the following:

 

(a) Report the finding to the secretary of state.

 

(b) On a form or forms prescribed by the state court administrator, forward to the department of state police a record that specifies the penalties imposed by the court, including any term of imprisonment, and any sanction imposed under section 625n or 904d.

 

(22) Except as otherwise provided by law, a record described in subsection (21)(b) is a public record and the department of state police shall retain the information contained on that record for not less than 7 years.

 

(23) In a prosecution for a violation of subsection (6), the defendant bears the burden of proving that the consumption of alcoholic liquor was a part of a generally recognized religious service or ceremony by a preponderance of the evidence.

 

(24) The court may order as a condition of probation that a person convicted of violating subsection (1) or (8), or a local ordinance substantially corresponding to subsection (1) or (8), shall not operate a motor vehicle unless that vehicle is equipped with an ignition interlock device approved, certified, and installed as required under sections 625k and 625l.

 

(25) As used in this section:

 

(a) Intoxicating substance means any substance, preparation, or a combination of substances and preparations other than alcohol or a controlled substance, that is either of the following:

 

(i) Recognized as a drug in any of the following publications or their supplements:

 

(A) The official United States pharmacopoeia.

 

(B) The official homeopathic pharmacopoeia of the United States.

 

(C) The official national formulary.

 

(ii) A substance, other than food, taken into a person's body, including, but not limited to, vapors or fumes, that is used in a manner or for a purpose for which it was not intended, and that may result in a condition of intoxication.

 

(b) Prior conviction means a conviction for any of the following, whether under a law of this state, a local ordinance substantially corresponding to a law of this state, a law of the United States substantially corresponding to a law of this state, or a law of another state substantially corresponding to a law of this state, subject to subsection (27):

 

(i) Except as provided in subsection (26), a violation or attempted violation of any of the following:

 

(A) This section, except a violation of subsection (2), or a violation of any prior enactment of this section in which the defendant operated a vehicle while under the influence of intoxicating or alcoholic liquor or a controlled substance, or a combination of intoxicating or alcoholic liquor and a controlled substance, or while visibly impaired, or with an unlawful bodily alcohol content.

 

(B) Section 625m.

 

(C) Former section 625b.

 

(ii) Negligent homicide, manslaughter, or murder resulting from the operation of a vehicle or an attempt to commit any of those crimes.

 

(iii) Section 601d or 626(3) or (4).

 

(26) Except for purposes of the enhancement described in subsection (12)(b), only 1 violation or attempted violation of subsection (6), a local ordinance substantially corresponding to subsection (6), or a law of another state substantially corresponding to subsection (6) may be used as a prior conviction.

 

(27) If 2 or more convictions described in subsection (25) are convictions for violations arising out of the same transaction, only 1 conviction shall be used to determine whether the person has a prior conviction.

Operating While Intoxicated (OWI 3rd Offense) - Felony Drunk Driving Third Offense under Michigan sentencing guidelines is scored under crimes against public safety (Pub Saf). Under the guidelines, a person who is convicted of Operating a Vehicle While Intoxicated, 3rd Offense with no prior record and no aggravating factors looks to the low end of the guidelines which call for up to 3 months. With no prior criminal record but horrible facts, the defendant can face 17* months. With a terrible criminal record and terrible facts, the accused can be looking at 38 months under the guidelines.

The jury instructions set forth the following elements for Operating a Vehicle While Intoxicated, 3rd Offense that must be proven beyond a reasonable doubt by the prosecuting attorney:

M Crim JI 15.1 Operating While Intoxicated-OWI

The defendant is charged with operating a motor vehicle

(1) with an unlawful bodily alcohol level; [and/or]

(2) while under the influence of alcohol; [or]

(3) while under the influence of a controlled substance; [or]

(4) while under the influence of an intoxicating substance; [or]

(5) while under the influence of a combination of [alcohol / a controlled substance / an intoxicating substance].

 

 

M Crim JI 15.2 Elements Common to Operating While Intoxicated [OWI] and Operating While Visibly Impaired [OWVI]

To prove that the defendant operated while intoxicated [or while visibly impaired], the prosecutor must prove each of the following elements beyond a reasonable doubt:

(1) First, that the defendant was operating a motor vehicle [on or about (state date)]. Operating means driving or having actual physical control of the vehicle.

(2) Second, that the defendant was operating a vehicle on a highway or other place open to the public or generally accessible to motor vehicles.

(3) Third, that the defendant was operating the vehicle in the [county / city] of ____________________________________.

 

 

M Crim JI 15.3 Specific Elements of Operating While Intoxicated [OWI]

(1) To prove that the defendant operated a motor vehicle while intoxicated, the prosecutor must also prove beyond a reasonable doubt that the defendant [choose from the following]:

(a) operated the vehicle with a bodily alcohol level of 0.08 grams or more [per 100 milliliters of blood / 210 liters of breath / 67 milliliters of urine];

(b) was under the influence of alcohol while operating the vehicle;

(c) was under the influence of a controlled substance while operating the vehicle;

(d) was under the influence of an intoxicating substance while operating the vehicle;

(e) was under the influence of a combination of [alcohol / a controlled substance / an intoxicating substance]2 while operating the vehicle.

[Choose from the following alternatives:]

(2) Under the influence of alcohol means that because of drinking alcohol, the defendant's ability to operate a motor vehicle in a normal manner was substantially lessened. To be under the influence, a person does not have to be what is called dead drunk, that is, falling down or hardly able to stand up. On the other hand, just because a person has drunk alcohol or smells of alcohol does not prove, by itself, that the person is under the influence of alcohol. The test is whether, because of drinking alcohol, the defendant's mental or physical condition was significantly affected and the defendant was no longer able to operate a vehicle in a normal manner.

(3) Under the influence of a controlled substance means that because of using or consuming a controlled substance, the defendant's ability to operate a motor vehicle in a normal manner was substantially lessened. To be under the influence, a person does not have to be falling down or hardly able to stand up. On the other hand, just because a person has consumed or used a controlled substance does not prove, by itself, that the person is under the influence of a controlled substance. The test is whether, because of the use or consumption of a controlled substance, the defendant's mental or physical condition was significantly affected and the defendant was no longer able to operate a vehicle in a normal manner. [Name substance] is a controlled substance.

(4) Under the influence of an intoxicating substance means that because of consuming or taking into [his / her] body an intoxicating substance, the defendant's ability to operate a motor vehicle in a normal manner was substantially lessened. To be under the influence, a person does not have to be falling down or hardly able to stand up. On the other hand, just because a person has consumed or used an intoxicating substance does not prove, by itself, that the person is under the influence of an intoxicating substance. The test is whether, because of consuming or taking into [his / her] body an intoxicating substance, the defendant's mental or physical condition was significantly affected and the defendant was no longer able to operate a vehicle in a normal manner.

[Choose (a) or (b) as appropriate:]

(a) [Name substance] is an intoxicating substance.

(b) An intoxicating substance is a substance in any form, including but not limited to vapors and fumes, other than food, that was taken into the defendant's body in any manner, that is used in a manner or for a purpose for which it was not intended, and that may result in a condition of intoxication.

 

I can't emphasize enough how important it is to focus on the jury instructions while preparing a defense to the offense of Operating While Intoxicated (OWI 3rd Offense) - Felony Drunk Driving Third Offense. While there are a number of defenses to Operating a Vehicle While Intoxicated, 3rd Offense that we can explore during a consultation, the elements contained in M Crim JI 15.1 provide a roadmap for defending the case. This is true in almost every single case, and really great defense attorneys focus early on these jury instructions.

As a cautionary note, you might be completely innocent but still face criminal charges. Even worse, you might be denied bail, forced to spend months in jail before you are vindicated. I have seen many cases where a truly innocent client is baffled, angry and scared, completely unable to understand why police and prosecutors are gunning to get a conviction. So long as probable cause is established at the preliminary examination, then the matter will be bound over for trial in the 3rd Circuit Court for the County of Wayne and further proceedings will be held in the Frank Murphy Hall of Justice in downtown Detroit. This is why it is so important that you contact an experienced Livonia criminal defense attorney to help you defend against criminal charges in the 16th District Court.

*represents an aberration under the guidelines that might result in county jail time or violate the 2/3rd maximum minimum rules under the guidelines, which is something that must be discussed with your attorney.

Call now for immediate help! (734) 591-0100

William Maze is an established Livonia Michigan attorney in Wayne County Michigan, and he has represented well over a thousand satisfied criminal defense clients across the state.  He has received multiple awards and recognitions, and he maintains a national reputation as one of the leading drunk driving defense attorneys in the country.  

  • Extensive training and education far beyond the average lawyer
  • Actually fights cases and is willing to go to trial
  • Past President of CDAM (2014-2015), the Criminal Defense Attorneys of Michigan
  • Member of the National College for DUI Defense
  • Member of the National Association of Criminal Defense Lawyers